Dockwalk - The Essential Site For Captains And Crew - DockTalk Untitled Page

Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
AV & IT but what about power generation
Frank
Posted: Friday, July 6, 2012 2:18 PM

So all these young people talking about AV & IT seem to forget a ships electrical officer (ETO) is the real deal. Power generation, electrical distrubtion, control, automation, alarm systems, lighting systems and so on are the real nuts and bolts skills needed onboard and make people a valuable resources. The self taught computer geek with a few short courses under his/her belt is not going to be much chop when the vital systems need maintenance, repair and operation. More often than not youngsters know little about marine electrical systems because they bypassed formal education and training, which makes it impossible to get them upto the required standard and make them valuable engineers capable of dealing with problems beyond the self taught geek level. In essence the so called ETO in the yachting world is a second grade tech that can't correctly operate, maintain or repair the marine systems of the yacht because they are virtual and not real engineers. At the end of the day it's difficult (impossible) to find a good ETO because there is none and the pathway to become one does exist, if it did would people put in the time and money to become one?????
Rusty Wrench
Posted: Friday, July 6, 2012 7:23 PM