Dockwalk - The Essential Site For Captains And Crew - DockTalk Untitled Page

Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Should I even bother coming to Florida in May?
AwesomeTori
Posted: Friday, March 17, 2017 3:27 PM

Hey all! I've been trying to potentially get into the yachting world for awhile now, but I'm honestly extremely intimidated. I have no server experience outside of my two small contacts aboard small cruise liners (one that was 3 months, the next 4 months. Both of them serving almost every single day). I feel like I could handle working on a yacht. The long hours and the duties, the sea sickness (I've only gotten sea sick like once, and it wasn't even bad. I feel like I kind of have a natural sea leg), and everything included with working on a yacht. I feel like I could honestly excel at. I'm passionate about the industry, and there's nothing else I would rather do. 

However, getting someone to believe me and hire me seems like an incredible feat. I have to wait to get a certain type of contact so that I qualify for my ENG1, so I can't get to Ft. Lauderdale until May. I'm worried that since it's near the end of the high season, it's not even worth going. And maybe I should save up and wait until November.