RSS Feed Print
Deckhand job
AdamHunkin
Posted: Friday, April 25, 2014 12:41 PM

Hi guys! I am currently finishing my A levels this summer and plan on doing my STCW 95 this summer in Antibes, then hopefully go out and find a job either this summer or next summer. I am a complete newbie to this industry, but I have lots of boating experience on sailing yachts, slowly gaining the miles to do my Yacht master. Can you give me a few pointers on what to do and where to go, how to dock walk, and also advice on accommodation in Antibes. Lastly, I am considering only being a deckhand for a gap year depending on if I pass the Medical for the Royal Navy. can you give me some pointers on crew agencies and where to go/look, and if it is a viable option against the Navy if I do not get in. (UK based) Many thanks Adam
Anonymous
Posted: Sunday, April 27, 2014 5:49 AM

I tell you what might be a good idea: completely forgetting wasting your time and money on attempting this industry. Rather than taking potential jobs and experience from those who actually want a career rather than just a gap year jolly, why not swan off to Thailand and spend your money on cheap beer and fantastic experiences, living like a king on a minimal budget rather than a vice versa scenario of you paying €8 for a pint in order to sit in an overcrowded weird smelling bar in the faint glimmer of hope that you'll be able to speak to someone who works on a boat who won't want to speak to you but will humour you for all of 5 minutes, naively thinking you can get a job through them, which is mostly untrue.

Too many people have worked very hard to get where they are and continue to do so in an increasingly competitive industry [comment edited by moderator]

Gabriel Poirier
Posted: Sunday, April 27, 2014 3:21 PM

To anonymous: It takes a strong personality to hide like you are doing. It is easy to call people name when you are to weak to put your name out.