Dockwalk - The Essential Site For Captains And Crew - DockTalk Untitled Page

Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Help getting started
brunopietoso
Posted: Friday, July 11, 2014 8:15 PM

Hi everyone,

I've recently decided to try and aim for a job working as a boat crew. I have no previous experience and have signed up to a few websites regarding job hunting but I've just come across this website and thought I'd share my questions with you in hopes that someone could help me out.

I am considering a change in career. I've recently relocated to New York City but have no interest in working office jobs anymore. I never considered working on a boat since I always thought it was either too late for me or didn't really know where to start.

I have a friend who used to work at the same job as I did and when the company went bust he decided to pursue the career as a boat skipper and it turned out quite alright for him. He did go through a couple of courses before doing so.

I don't have much money to invest in courses at the moment so I was looking for a more "practical" approach, meaning, working on a boat for free or little money but being able to gather practical experience from doing so. I think deck hand is usually the entry position?

Is that something you guys would advise against or for? Where should I start looking for such opportunities? Specially living in NYC...

Thank you and hope to hear from you soon.

Bruno

Big Dog_2
Posted: Tuesday, July 15, 2014 7:39 PM

Bruno