Dockwalk - The Essential Site For Captains And Crew - DockTalk Untitled Page

Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Transfer from RN
ATaylor25
Posted: Monday, July 27, 2015 9:59 PM

Good evening all,

As the title suggests, I'm considering leaving the Royal Navy and starting a new career in the yachting industry. I'm a warfare officer, having spent the last 6 years in various bridge watch keeping assignments on ships ranging from 400 to 12000+ tons. I hold an STCW 98 (military caveat) and I'm aware I'd need to conduct some form of training to transfer my qualifications into civilian ones. I also hold RYA day skip and powerboat qualifications although they haven't been used for a number of years!

I've spent time looking and reading through this and a few other websites but all the advice I could find is on to those starting out with no experience at all. Although I obviously don't expect someone to hand me the keys to a yacht based purely on my prior experience I was hoping for an indication at the level of employment I could expect to achieve.

Additionally any information on which qualifications I'd need/would be helpful would also be appreciated. I know bluewater offer an exam-only OOW course, however I'm concerned this would leave me without knowledge of aspects of the yachting industry that would cause me issues later in my career. However, having been using ECDIS for 6 years I'm hoping I won't have to redo that course!

I'm aware that this is a very expansive question and I very much appreciate any responses. Thanks in advance,

Ally