Dockwalk - The Essential Site For Captains And Crew - DockTalk Untitled Page

Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Hey everyone, I could use some advice
A.Dwelley
Posted: Wednesday, April 2, 2014 11:55 PM

I am new to this scene. I have always wanted to work on a ship, but never really thought it was an option. I want a change. I want to do something I have never done before. I also have little to no experience. If anyone on here has any advice on how to continue, or, even better, have a place on your crew I would be in your debt. Adam
Henning_1
Posted: Saturday, April 5, 2014 1:47 AM

Well, the question begins, "Do you want to work on a ship or a yacht specifically?"  Yachting is a subset of ships in that they still operated in the same environment and must heed the same considerations, but there are considerations on a yacht that don't exist on most ships. There are also inland tugs as well as long haul, and then there's the entire offshore energy sector. Yachting is more about presentation, most yachts are used as mobile floating waterfront residences, they aren't optimized for going to sea for the most part, there's often a lot of lashing of furniture before setting on a passage. You must be extremely detail oriented and willing to put in a lot of time cleaning and polishing, that's 85% of the job on a yacht as a deckhand; it's all about the details and making them not only function properly but shine as well.