Dockwalk - The Essential Site For Captains And Crew - DockTalk Untitled Page

Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Cost of Living Ft. Lauderdale
BNBN
Posted: Sunday, February 15, 2015 9:17 PM

Hi all,

I'm new to the industry and plan to move out to Fort Lauderdale in October 2015 to look for work at the start of the winter season. I have money for flights and courses saved however am wondering what the cost of living in Ft. Lauderdale as crew is like?

I was thinking of giving myself a 6 - 8 week window in which to find work, so if I were to live in a crewhouse (and cook from some cheap supermarkets) how much do you think I would need for that period of time? I would like to live quite frugally however understand that networking / going out for drinks is part of the job hunting lifestyle... and I obviously want to enjoy myself!

Would be great to hear from someone who has got into the industry this way or some experienced crew who have spent some seasons in Fort Lauderdale.

Thanks!
Anonymous
Posted: Monday, February 16, 2015 3:29 AM
http://www.cbp.gov/contact
BNBN
Posted: Monday, February 16, 2015 1:58 PM

Was that meant to give me any info on cost of living?
Smart Move Crew Accommodation
Posted: Monday, February 16, 2015 2:50 PM

Your questions above are great. Although we cant help you with the general cost of living in Fort Lauderdale we can help you with crew housing.

www.smartmovecrew.com